Word Mess: wordy open mic night

Hosted by yours truly, expect spoken word, short readings, poetry and more at this open mic night for writers and wordy buffs.

Come along to our cosy Mess Hall (upstairs in Penrith Old Fire Station) and listen to some great new writing – or, if you’re in a sharing mood, bring your stories / poems / bits of script / travel writing / love letters / Christmas round robins / angsty teenage diaries.

7pm, for 7:30 curtain-up*

*This is just a turn of phrase. We don’t actually have a curtain. We do have a bar, though. And a lamp.

Word Mess open mic night, Penrith, Cumbria

The dates for Word Mess in the first half of 2017 are:

  • Tues 24th January
  • Tues 28th February
  • Tues 21st March (NB: this is a week earlier than normal)
  • Tues 25th April
  • Tues 23rd May
  • Tues 27th June
  • Tues 25th July
  • NO SESSION IN AUGUST – HAPPY SUMMER HOLIDAY!
  • Tues 26 September
  • Tues 24 October
  • Tues 18 November

Penrith Old Fire Station is between the hospital and ambulance station, so there isn’t far to go if you get overwhelmed by all that wordy goodness.

Outside of office hours (Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm) you can park in any of the NHS staff car parks that surround Penrith Old Fire Station (even though they say permit holders only). Please note that there are stairs up to the Mess Hall.

Feel free to use & follow the #WordMess hashtag, and to get in touch if you have any questions.

Advertisements